Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

V0N 1B8, Whistler

Leave a comment

Silent twilight at the Scandinave Spa

Dear ——–,

The hopeful rain on Wednesday night turned into a rain disaster on Thursday morning. It was raining and +1 degree Celsius at the top of the Whistler Mountain gondola. I’ve never skied in the rain, so these were the worst conditions I’d ever encountered. I was skiing through slurpee and so tired of being wet I wore a plastic bag over my clothes. The conditions on Friday looked to be the same so we gave up sliding that day. Instead, Jen, Andrew, Bryan and I checked out the 2010 Olympic Nordic skiing area and learned about loppets, the fun-runs of the cross-country skiing world. We ended the afternoon at the Scandinave Spa, a collection of hot and cold pools deep in the cedars and firs. The spa insisted on quiet, so I spent a nice hour or two in a fluffy robe, reading the new Cleopatra biography. Bryan and I also got massages, which worked out all the kinks and discontents of the previous day.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

