Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

90266, Manhattan Beach

Leave a comment

Volleyball in front of the Strand

Dear ——–,

This is why people move to Southern California: clear skies and temperatures in the high 70s in November. Jennifer and I drove out to Manhattan Beach this morning to play beach volleyball. It was so warm, I peeled off my hoodie even before I got to the sand courts where the rest of our group had set up. (The group included a lot of Caltech guys, many of whom where French. I heard a lot of “merde” and “putain” on the court today.) You never run as fast as you think you should be able to on sand; you also sink if you try to push off when you jump. The wind plays havoc with the ball. On the beach, you just have to accept that the ball is not going to go where you think it will, but it will be a good workout. It was almost like summer out there again, with that feeling of wanting to play outside until you’re utterly exhausted. The only reminder was when I got home, when the darkness crept up on me faster than I expected.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

