Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

80202, Denver

Leave a comment

Welcome to the Frontier!

Dear ——–,

After a long day in training, Preston and I decided to meet up for dinner. He suggested Ted’s Montana Grill, for the bison pot roast. I felt a little weird looking at the large curly bison head adorning the wall. I was in the middle of watching Ken Burns’ National Parks series and the last segment I saw talked about Teddy Roosevelt rushing to get out West because he wanted to shoot one of the beasts before they disappeared from the frontier forever. A park ranger described the breath of bison in Yellowstone crystallizing out of the winter air and forming beards on their chins. And here I was, about 100 years later, about to order a slice. (The restaurant was unfortunately out of bison pot roast, so I got bison meatloaf instead. The verdict: tasty.) The good thing, I guess, was we managed somehow to pull back from the brink of destroying the quintessential symbolic of American wildness. Bison live on, even if in a somewhat circumscribed form, leaving link between the original frontier and our modern life today. Maybe it’s not too late for America to redeem itself from other mistakes as well.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

