Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

90028, Hollywood

Leave a comment

Studio 1 at East West Studios

Dear ——–,

On Monday, My-Thuan and I met up at Animal for a completely artery-clogging dinner. The bacon gravy that came with the seared foie gras and biscuit had crack in it; the pork belly and slaw sliders slipped down my throat. We were thinking of getting the bacon chocolate crunch bar for dessert, but I confessed to My-Thuan, “I’m a little porked out.” We had a velvety panna cotta instead. Afterward, I met up with Erika to see Bryan at East West Studios, the former United/Western Recorders where Frank Sinatra recorded “My Way.” Bryan was recording some raucous rock songs for Halos in the mod Studio 1. He was working a Neve console that was designed special for Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” session. Mike gave us a tour of the Philippe Starck-redesigned lounges and kitchen. The drippy white chandelier and oversize horse lamp gave the rooms, as Bryan said, a kind of modern “Alice in Wonderland” vibe. Everyone was super busy, so Erika and I headed back to the house, had a chat and tucked ourselves into bed. It was a school night, after all.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

