Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

80333, Munich

Leave a comment

Taking an afternoon stroll in the Englischer Garten

Dear ——–,

Once all the meetings were finally over, I headed to the Alte Pinakothek, one of the best collections of work by Europe’s Old Masters. Taking my time in the high-ceilinged galleries, I admired the dynamic, muscular movement in the Rubens works and the composure of the earliest known Da Vinci painting. I saw a quirky canvas by Hieronymous Bosch for the first time and decided I should look into his stuff. I bumped into Dave admiring the Rembrandts and found out we were both headed over to the Englischer Garten. We stumbled upon hundreds of people sprawled out over the vast lawns. A handful (mostly older men) were sunbathing nude. There were also a lot of people splashing around with their friends in the tree-lined streams to cool themselves off from the 90-degree heat. It was so social, so … bucolic. The scene reminded me of Renoir’s Bathers and I started to understand why Impressionists painted these kinds of visions. At the end of the 19th century, they were dealing with increasing urbanization and industrialization, and here, by contrast, was something spontaneous and natural. It was time to take a breath.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

