Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

89449, Stateline

2 Comments


Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada

Dear ——–,

At the top of one of the lifts at Heavenly, there was a sign with an arrow for California to the left and Nevada to the right. Nevada looked like a brown dust bowl. California shone bright and blue, with Lake Tahoe sparkling in the sun. I’m sure the first pioneers who saw this view went west. Bryan and I savored the panorama as we whipped down groomed trails lightly frosted with powder. We got so over-confident that we tried to tackle a double-black-diamond trail near the bottom of the mountain. That was a total mistake. The moguls had frozen over and were re-melting in the afternoon sun. We couldn’t wait to get back to the steep, hard-pack trails again. Later that afternoon, we slid to a stop on some flats because we didn’t know the trails very well. But I guess that’s all part of the adventure of trying a new mountain.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

2 thoughts on “89449, Stateline

  1. I really wanna head over to Heavenly. Can’t believe I’ve never been there. Do you think it’s better than Mammoth, Northstar or Squaw?

  2. I’d say Heavenly has the best view of any ski slope I’ve been to. But I haven’t been to Northstar or Squaw.

Leave a Reply

