Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

90028, Hollywood

9 Comments

Waiting to get into the Henry Fonda for Radiohead

Dear ——–,

Bryan got us on the guest list for Radiohead’s benefit concert for Haiti. I felt pretty special since the guest list included Justin Timberlake, who was standing at the bar with Jessica Beale about three feet next to me at one point! Radiohead usually plays 10,000-seat venues, but they put up about 1,000 tickets for auction for an intimate show at the Henry Fonda Music Box. (This one guy was so desperate for tickets he actually offered to trade time on the set of an adult movie for a ticket.) The band played songs off practically every album, whipping the crowd into a frenzy with a high-powered rendition of “The Bends.” Thom Yorke’s voice was so clear on some slow songs that I wondered whether he had ever been a choir boy. When he announced the amount they’d raised for Oxfam, Thom said, “Fuck me!” It was over $572,000! I’m still trying to figure out why they gave us four wristbands, but apparently one of them entitled us to stay for the after party. The DJ spun some random old-school funk and I saw Thom boogeying with Flea from the Chili Peppers.

Bonus photo of Radiohead on stage

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

9 thoughts on “90028, Hollywood

  1. Wow. What a life!

  2. Oh, I’m crying inside. So jealous! Why won’t Thom just admit that I’m the girl for him?!? I would be his baby mama at the drop of a hat.

    • Well, I never really got close enough to tell Thom about your undying love. So really, he hasn’t gotten an opportunity to get witchu. ;P

  3. When you were doing this, I was playing volleyball at West High. Who’s jealous now? Oh, still me? Nevermind then.

    • Actually, when I was at the Fonda, I was thinking to myself, “Scott would really enjoy this.” You knew about the auction, right? It all happened so fast that I blanked on whom to tell about it.

      • No worries. Yeah, I heard about it. I was in Santa Barbara that weekend, and was in the Miami the weekend before that, so getting tickets just kind of fell of my radar.

Leave a Reply

