Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

93546, Mammoth Lakes

1 Comment

On the lift, up to fresh snow

Dear ——–,

I finally got a powder day on the mountain Sunday, after missing the first two storms of the season. Shiao-Wen gamely agreed to go up Lincoln Mountain with me and maneuvered around some rocky patches so we could get to a clear field of untracked snow. I may have asked her to do too much since she was still getting used to the deep powder AND her glasses kept fogging up. We both felt a strange sense of vertigo when the snow was falling so thickly everything looked white and we couldn’t tell whether we had stopped or not. I spent most of my day in the trees for that reason; at least they helped me see the contour of the ground. Bryan would’ve drooled over this kind of day, but he unfortunately had to stay in L.A. and work. We decided to call it a day at 1:30 p.m. since we could barely see. I managed to get the chains on the car in about a foot of snow in the parking lot. We drove past the Inyo County line before the road was clear enough to take them off.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

One thought on “93546, Mammoth Lakes

  1. Baaaaa…Lincoln Mountain. I will kill that mountain one day. Shred it? Well, you get my drift (haha). Sounds lovely. Glad you both had fun. I still remember that powder that where I fell face down, and you watched me go with a whimper…Fun times.

Leave a Reply

