Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

90041, Eagle Rock

4 Comments

The Civic, ready to hit the snow!

Dear ——-,

I put on my first set of tire chains this morning. Shiao-Wen and I are going on a road trip to Mammoth without Bryan. There’s snow in the forecast, so Bryan showed me how to shimmy on the chains in the driveway. I barely know how to work a car, but I decided that if I’m going to be a hard-core skier, I better learn all the skills I need to get to the mountain safely. Crud got all over my hands and forearms as I pulled the links together and tightened them with hooks connected to a big rubber band. This was really my first ever Grease Monkey moment. I hope I can do this with gloves on, in 15 degree weather, as trucks roll by, in the dark.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

4 thoughts on “90041, Eagle Rock

  1. i’m so proud of you! u go gyrl.

  2. It’s painful in the cold…I remember trying to lend a hand and some morale support to Bryan as he tried to squeeze on those super tiny chains onto his car…Remember? It was the night of the swirlies!

Leave a Reply

