Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

91109, Pasadena

1 Comment

wind

Wind-blown schmutz turned the sky a woolly gray color.

Dear ——–,

When L.A. has weather, it has WEATHER. The winds on Tuesday and Wednesday ripped fronds off palm trees and whipped up the ash coating recently burned hillsides in La Canada. Just as I was about to leave work, an announcement came over the loudspeaker warning about the fierce gusts outside. The wind even threw open a door to my office building. When I walked out to my car, the schmutz in the air made my eyes water and my throat itch. It was just another reminder that while Los Angeles seems mild-mannered, it has a savage temper. When I worked at the L.A. Times, I couldn’t believe we wrote so many weather stories. I grew up in New Jersey, so rain, snow and thunder were a fact of life, a limiting factor. But I guess Angelenos so rarely feel limited by the hand of Nature (let’s create a city in the desert!) that these kinds of things really are news.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

One thought on “91109, Pasadena

  1. I love the word schmutz. Glad you survived it.

Leave a Reply

