Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

90746, Carson

2 Comments

marta

Marta was triple-teamed most of the time but still managed to get off this cross.

Dear ——–,

I came out of the Home Depot Center on Saturday afternoon with more respect for the dazzling soccer abilities of Marta and Shannon Boxx, but also a realization that it takes more than two players to make an offense. We were watching the first championship game of the Women’s Professional Soccer League where the Los Angeles Sol battled Sky Blue FC from New Jersey. (I dragged Bryan in part because I worried this might be the league’s first and last final. The good news is that the league only lost as much money as they expected to lose.) The sports mantra that defense wins championships was in full effect as Sky Blue managed to take balls off the feet of Sol attackers before they got any clear shots. I didn’t agree with the strange Sol defender aversion to midfield. Why did they keep lofting hopeful, desperate balls 100 feet ahead of the forwards? I guess I’m a fan of the possession game. (Hey, no control freak comments!) Barcelona after all used it deftly to embarrass Man U during the UEFA Champions League final. Even though the Sol were playing one short for much of the game because of an overly harsh red card, Saturday’s game was really close. I screamed every time the Sol looked as if they might score. I left the game hoarse.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

2 thoughts on “90746, Carson

  1. that red card was a bunch of BS! playing almost 70 minutes with a woman down… ugh. damn refs.

    • Yeah, I agree! I don’t usually challenge the refs, but this one kept calling things against the Sol and turning a blind eye to Sky Blue. Boo! At least be consistent!

Leave a Reply

