Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

90036, Los Angeles

Leave a comment

HappyHappy installation near the Broad Contemporary wing

HappyHappy installation near the Broad Contemporary wing

Dear ——–,

I went to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art yesterday to get a birthday present at the gift shop. This art installion, HappyHappy by Choi Jeong-Hwa , stopped me in my tracks. From far away, I thought I saw a bunch of long, colorful lanterns, but as I got closer, I realized the lanterns were actually plastic cups, tupperware containers and colanders. Kids were running between these plastic streamers and the security guards weren’t stopping them. It reminded me of swimming through Chuck E. Cheese ballpits. I smiled instantly. Here were things you don’t usually pay attention to, presented as pure, joyful colors and shapes. HappyHappy was part of an exhibit on contemporary Korean art called Your Bright Future, but wasn’t our immersion in brightly-colored plastics practically universal? If nothing else links us to everyone else in the world, our common infatuation with cheap, throwaway items does!

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

