Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

90013, Downtown Los Angeles

1 Comment

A little lunchtime Michael Jackson at California Plaza

A little lunchtime Michael Jackson at California Plaza

Dear ——–,

As Ron and I were toiling up the many steps of Angel’s Flight today to get to California Plaza for lunch, I heard the strains of “Beat It” floating out above us. At first, I thought someone was playing the melody on a squealing 80s electric guitar. Ron thought the sound resembled the electric fiddle of Riverdance. When we got to the top of the stairs, we saw a woman playing a haegum, a traditional Koean two-stringed upright fiddle, as part of the Grand Performances series. I was baffled, but impressed. I love getting surprises like this when I leave the office. As we settled down at one of the tables with sandwiches from my new favorite place Mendocino Farms, HaegumPlus tore through flamenco, Klezmer and jazz. When Kang Eun Il, the leader of the ensemble, introduced herself, she spoke in Korean. But clearly, she’s fluent in a lot of different musical languages.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

One thought on “90013, Downtown Los Angeles

  1. this is a fun blog!!!!!

Leave a Reply

