Postmark Here

Postcards from Travel Near and Far by Jia-Rui

80331, Munich

2 Comments

Munich city hall, Marienplatz

Dear ——–,

One of the first things I learned in Munich is that bikes ride on the smooth part of the sidewalk and pedestrians walk on the cobblestone part. A few aggravated dings of a bell and near collisions quickly schooled me. I arrived in Munich in the late afternoon Monday and quickly set out for a walk around town. I was struck by how green the landscapes are and how flat the terrain is. California makes you accustomed to perpetual drought and dramatic mountains and valleys. I ended up bumping into one of the scientists here for the same meeting as me near Marienplatz, the main square, and we decided to sit outside, in a courtyard of city hall. I decided to tuck into a sausage sampler for my first Munich meal. Even though I don’t like beer, I figured I should try it if I’m at the home of Oktoberfest. I ordered a tall glass of weissbier. It was actually not bad – light, almost sweet. Even though I didn’t come close to finishing it, Bryan was surprised I drank any at all. It was the first time I understood the idea of beer being refreshing.

Author: postmarkhere

I'm a journalist based in Los Angeles who has always said that writing postcards for a living would be a dream job. The posts -- short enough to fit on an actual postcard -- chronicle recent travels near and far. I could blab on about being inspired by epistolary novels, the short poems of Emily Dickinson, and the New Yorker's "Talk of the Town" pieces, but I'll just say that I'm aiming to give you a sense of flavor of a place without boring you to death. Wish you were here!

2 thoughts on “80331, Munich

  1. That was really the first beer I ever enjoyed. It’s a slippery slope…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.